By: Joemar Pasco
Share This Post
How Soon Can I Remarry After I File For A Divorce?
How Soon Can One Remarry After Filing For Divorce In Florida
Sometimes things just simply don’t work out and that’s completely fine. If it ever gets to the point to where you and your loved one no longer see eye to eye and must file for a divorce in Florida and, for one reason or another, you’d like to remarry, then it should come to your pleasant surprise that there actually is no waiting period which one must endure after filing for a divorce, in Florida at least.
However, the fine print truly does come into play if and only if the state in which you’d like to be remarried in just so happens to also be Florida. In which case, some restrictions do exist, they may not be an extensive laundry list of things which must be checked off before being able to (re)marry, but they definitely do hold within themselves something to consider. Starting off with the basics, below are but the only 2 requirements for getting (re)married in the state of Florida. Also, just as a side note, those who have been married previously must provide the clerk of the circuit court office the date of divorce, the annulment, or proof of spouse’s death.
Requirements For Getting Re-Married
1. Generally speaking, both the bride and groom are required to be 18 with few exceptions.
2. A marriage license specific to the state of Florida must be obtained.
If only obtaining said license were that simple though. In order to do so, the spouses must go to their local clerk of the circuit court office in order to apply for a marriage license which does expire just a mere 60 days from the date of activation.
How Much Do We Pay
The standard fee for this license is $93.50 for both residents and non-residents though more on an offer exclusive to residents will be written below. Along with the fee of $93.50 for the marriage license, participating parties will also need to bring proof of identification either in the form of a driver’s license, state ID card, or valid passport; on top of both parties having to provide their social security numbers as well.
If any of the participating parties is a resident of the State of Florida, then they could actually get the license for much cheaper, $32.50 cheaper in fact! The only catch is being that both parties must complete a four hour licensed Florida pre-marital course. Though there is quite a big benefit in doing so, and that comes in the form of the 3 days waiting period after issuance of the license before being able to actually get married being waived.
With all of that being said and done, it is safe to say that the process of remarrying in the state of Florida actually isn’t something that would deter many people as all of the requirements and procedures are quite standard and relatively inexpensive. If more assistance or information is required, please do reach out to your local clerk of the circuit court.